Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Hysteria - The Movie! And They Said Women Were Crazy!


starring 
Maggie Gyllenhaal, Hugh Dancy, and Jonathan Pryce.




For more on the movie Hysteria, read the review on Hollywood and Fine (movies for smart people with Marshall Fine).

Hysteria is a major component of my historical novel A White Room, so I found this movie just a blast to watch. I'd have to say it's hysterically humorous. Ha! Did you see what I did there? If you think this movie looks interesting, I hope you will check out my novel A White Room coming out in the Summer of 2013.

I'm posting this on The Unhinged and Empowered Navy Wives blog because this blog is all about how Navy Wives often find themselves in these situations where they feel psychotic, but we are certainly not unique in that women have felt psychotic for generations. In my research, I've come to theorize that the societal line of thinking (i.e. women are all crazy) stems from the history of hysteria. Read more about this theory in my blog post Every Woman Who Has Ever Been Called Crazy. This movie shows how ridiculous hysteria was and can give us all a good laugh about it.

If you want to read a little more about the research I did on hysteria for my novel, take a look at some of my posts on my blog The Unhinged Historian for fans of Gothic, Paranormal, and Magical Victorian and Turn of the Century Fiction. Start with The History in my Historical Novel and scroll down to "Insanity." I also suggest you watch my vlog about How The Yellow Wallpaper Inspired My Novel, which is about how the historical short story The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman inspired my novel. She based the work on her own experiences with hysteria. I also did a vlog reading of The Yellow Wallpaper. If you are interested CLICK HERE.

Get the Support You Need.
Sign up for the U&E Quarterly Newsletter! 
Only Four Emails a Year.



About Stephanie Carroll
U&E Founder & Author
Buy Her Book A White Room!
Photo by Randy Enriquez
I dated and married my husband in 2004 when I was 19. I felt like an outsider for the first half of our marriage. He didn't understand what I needed to know about the Navy, and I didn't know what to ask.

After ten years of learning in the Navy, I founded Unhinged & Empowered. I wanted to spread the knowledge that I needed when I was new, to reveal what took years for me to learn.   
Cover Design by Jenny Q
  
In addition to being a Navy Wife, I am also a novelist. I write historical women's fiction.

My first novel A White Room debuted in 2013 and is about a woman forced to sacrifice her own ambitions of becoming a nurse to marry a man who can save her destitute family. He moves her to a strange, small town where she slowly succumbs to madness until she stumbles on an opportunity to nurse to the poor despite the fact that her husband prosecutes unlicensed practitioners.

Learn more at www.stephaniecarroll.net and connect with me @CarrollBooks on Twitter, Facebook, or on Pinterest!

Join My Journey.
Subscribe Today! 
Only Four Emails a Year!



No comments:

Post a Comment

I love, love your comments and questions! Just remember to not mention any security info about your Sailor! Thank you!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Popular Posts